Mumbai defeat CSK to enter IPL Finals for the Fifth time

Mumbai Indians defeated Chennai Super Kings in the Qualifier 1 at Chennai to reach Indian Premier League final for the fifth time. MS Dhoni called the coin right and decided to bat first. Chennai went off to a brisk start as both their foreign openers fell early in the innings scoring 6 and 10. Mumbai has spun a web against the CSK batsmen with their spinners which made runs to come very hard. 

On a slow pitch CSK just scored 32 runs in the power play losing Raina, Faf and Watson. Murali Vijay and Rayudu did well to stand but failed to accelerate the score card. Dhoni’s few lusty blows at the end got them 131 runs on the board.

Mumbai started their innings with a four before Rohit Sharma got out as LBW by Chahar. Decock fell for just 8 runs to Harbhajan and CSK sniffed the victory at that point. But young pair Surya Kumar Yadav and Ishan Kishan took the onus on their shoulders and did the job well. Dhoni did all he could but failed to break the partnership. Tahir sent Kishan and K.Pandya in consecutive deliveries just to delay the Mumbai victory by  wickets. 

Chennai Super Kings will now play the winner of the Eliminator, to be played between SunRisers Hyderabad and Delhi Capitals on Wednesday. Notably, Mumbai Indians have won three of the four IPL finals they have played.