3 senior Congress leaders send resignations to Rahul a day after defeat

Three senior Congress leaders from Uttar Pradesh, Odisha and Karnataka have tendered their resignations to party President Rahul Gandhi, a day after the Lok Sabha election results were announced. 

Uttar Pradesh chief Raj Babbar, Karnataka Congress’ HK Patil and Odisha Congress chief Niranjan Patnaik have tendered their resignations. Some more offers to quit are expected to follow as well but a Congress leader said the party may not rush into accepting the resignations.

Congress won only the Rae Bareli constituency of Sonia Gandhi in Uttar Pradesh that sends 80 lawmakers to parliament. Babbar, the Uttar Pradesh Chief, who contested from Fatehpur Sikri, also lost by a margin of nearly 5 lakh votes to the BJP candidate.

Babbar has called the results “depressing” for the Uttar Pradesh Congress. “I find myself guilty of not discharging my responsibility in a proper manner,” he tweeted. Later, the party’s Amethi district president Yogendra Misra also put in his papers.

HK Patil, who was tasked to oversee the Karnataka Congress campaign in December, has also quit along with the Odisha Congress chief Niranjan Patnaik who lost the 2 assembly seats he contested, his son also lost a Lok Sabha seat.