Modi to swear in on May 30th

The BJP-led NDA has elected Narendra Modi as its leader for the second time in a row at NDA parliamentary board meeting today. Modi met President Ram Nath Kovind later today to stake claim to form government. “I thank all allies and MPs who unanimously chose NDA leader Narendra Modi as the new PM,” said BJP President Amit Shah.

PM Narendra Modi is the first leader since Indira Gandhi to return to power with a single-party majority in Lok Sabha. His Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has secured 303 out of the 542 Lok Sabha seats that were contested. 

NDA leader Narendra Modi met President Ram Nath Kovind today and staked claim to form new government. President Ram Nath Kovind appointed Modi to the office of Prime Minister and asked him to advise about the names of others to be appointed members of the Union Council of Ministers. The swearing-in ceremony is likely to take place on May 30.

On the other side, Biju Janata Dal (BJD) chief Naveen Patnaik will be sworn in as Odisha Chief Minister on May 29 for a fifth consecutive term. The BJD won 112 of the 146 Assembly seats for which elections were held. The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) won 23 seats, Congress bagged nine seats, the CPI(M) one and an Independent candidate was also elected.