High Tension in Karnataka politics – BJP to form Government ?

Eleven MLAs of the JD(S)-Congress coalition government in Karnataka on Saturday submitted their resignation. Out of the eleven, eight MLAs are from the Congress and three are from the JD(S). The JD(S)-Congress coalition government would lose majority if the resignations are accepted as the strength of the coalition government will be reduced to 106.The MLAs reportedly met Governor Vajubhai Vala and called for a floor test in the Assembly.

Since the Speaker is not at his chamber, the nine MLAs submitted their resignations to the Office of the Speaker before leaving for Raj Bhavan to meet the Governor. Former Karnataka CM BS Yeddyurappa alleged that Congress minister DK Shivakumar was “tearing” the resignation letters of MLAs inside the Speaker’s office.

Karnataka Speaker Ramesh Kumar said that Sunday is a holiday and he is busy with a personal work on Monday, he will return to office only on Tuesday

Meanwhile, Deputy Chief Minister G Parameshwara and state minister DK Shivakumar have called an emergency meeting of Congress Bengaluru MLAs and Corporators later on Saturday. Karnataka Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy is currently on a US tour.

Coming to the numbers game, the strength of the Karnataka Assembly is 224. For any party or coalition to form a government, they need 113 MLAs. Now, The BJP, which has 105 seats in the Assembly, needed 15 MLAs to resign to bring down the coalition government and form its own. With these new resignations, the BJP will now require only three more MLAs to resign to topple the government.